28
Mar
17

One of the Good Ones

oneofthegoodones

Mayor Joe Hogsett did a meet and greet with the constituents and maniacs that dwell in one of the worst crime areas of his city this past Saturday, and I was lucky enough to watch (who I consider) one of the good politicians that day. During a time when our House and Senate seem to mock the very existence of our Constitution and harbor themselves in dens of cronyism and pure fucking greed, here stood a man Saturday who was willing to go among those who help make up Sleepytown to say hello, I am your mayor. This was not high end rich folks in a subtle suburban setting…no, he jumped right in at the 10th Street and Rural locale, the old NESCO (Near Eastside COmmunity) neighborhood that has turned into a slum of punk thieves, desperate hookers and inexperienced grifters. Not more than ten minutes before he showed up to walk the streets with the IMPD Chief of Police Brian Roach and some other community figures, I witnessed a guy run from cops, which turned into a B&E after he got into a building to hide from them. They tried to flush him out but it was Saturday afternoon and the business the man fled inside was closed for the weekend. The location is notorious for scams and shootings, but all the local businesses in that vicinity want to make a decent living, which led to these steps from the Mayor’s office to start doing something, I assume.

My initial reason for being down on 1oth was not to see him – I didn’t even know he was going to be there, but once I found out he was supposed to show up I thought I might as well stay and check this out. I knew a little about this new mayor so here was an opportunity to further my knowledge on him. My first spotting of Joe Hogsett was at the downtown Indy Gay Pride celebration last year, where he showed up in support of the event by marching along with the grand parade that’s held in Indianapolis. Involvement from his office with downtown businesses met a halfway point on some city money appropriations in support of the arts, so, those two items were a couple of credits I could give to Joe. He was a mover and a shaker and a poster child at supporting my observation that local politics works quicker with more immediate impact (proportionately) than federal politics. So many here are trying to forget that our current Vice President used to be the Governor of Indiana, a twisted, soulless kind of Governor that tainted the image of the people who live here. The penance Hoosiers were willing to suffer to get him out of Indiana was to let him be carted off for the inane, mostly ineffective job of being a Vice President. I could go off down the rabbit hole which Mike Pence, the Crimson King and his gang who work at destroying things for you and me, but my main premise for this post was my observation of what turned into a positive experience with a local politician; one of the good ones. Joe was out there shaking hands with store owners and firefighters, street people – the type people you see who just sit there for a couple days and never leave that spot on the street. He listened and shook hands and I could see the synergy he was bringing to this normally hate infested side of town. At the very least, you want your political leaders to not break anything…if they can just do that, not break anything, then I have to say they’re one of the good ones. Not necessarily a great one, but at least, a good one. Joe wasn’t out here breaking anything, so Joe is one of the good ones.

The weekend came and went and gave me time to reflect on the Hogsett visit to 10th and Rural, and that’s when my mind remembered something eerie from Trump rallies I attended during his run for the White House. There was that same semi-mesmerized stare in people following Trump as I saw from people meeting Joe Hogsett out there on 10th. Successful politicians always end up becoming a polished presentation and will practically hypnotize crowds with their charm and charisma. Powerful, successful people, all have this aura about them that attracts others to them as if they are somehow a part of the person they just met. If you get to shake the hand of a pro athlete or meet a famous singer or someone even famous on a local level, these type people can make anyone fall victim to following them with rose colored glasses in times of falter, so I am beginning to understand part of the Trump support that led him to the Presidency…but there again, I did not want this post to turn into a tirade on Trump, I wanted it to be a nod in favor of the job Joe Hogsett is doing. One of the good ones…and the fucker pulls it off with a last name like Hogsett…bravo.

0 Responses to “One of the Good Ones”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Calendar of Posts

March 2017
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Blog Stats

  • 11,450 hits

