19
Mar
15

Where Has All the Good Acid Gone?

acid A couple days ago while waiting for the bus noisy Valiant came rumbling by and did a turnaround to confront me. I determined the guy must be lost because I’m not of the age to worry about attracting predators anymore so I waited to hear his story. The average looking Joe behind the wheel told me if I had a few bucks to spare he would take me anywhere I needed to go because he was out of cash and needed to get gas to make it back to Anderson. Sounded good enough for me so I slid in the car and handed him a sawbuck.

The man, named Ray, was pleased with the exchange and as went went down the road we shot the shit on various subjects. We were in that familiar age bracket where experiences were easy to relate and before long, one of us brought up the subject of LSD.
“Where the fuck has all the good acid gone anyway?” I asked him. This is a familiar question I confront people with and to date, I have not received a good enough answer. Ray and I never did come up with a definitive-or even a conclusive-answer so he dropped me off where I needed to be and we parted with smiles. I kept that burning question in my head though….where has all the good acid gone?

The following day was Saint Patrick’s; a delight of drinking and emerald colored huge hats for all. Still nursing some ailment in me I didn’t want to overdo the drinking tradition but I felt I could handle a few pops of Jameson so I wandered over to a local pub where a few folks I know would show up. I quickly grabbed a seat at the bar and started in. A lady close to my age introduced herself and so lapse ahead a few minutes and there she was sitting next to me. From that point the Patty’s Day celebration took on more a flavor of how to avoid the clingy woman that wanted to seduce me. Not that I’m opposed to being seduced but I wasn’t firing on all cylinders and she was toting some exclusive baggage: a whiskey drinking numerologist Christian, who was married. Here husband wasn’t up there and she decided to go on the prowl and take someone back to a hotel room (I wouldn’t put it past her to do someone in a car in the parking lot). During the hours it took to get some friends into my escape plan and get me out of there and home free, I popped back and forth to that nagging question in my head; where has all the good acid gone?

Ray had told me how in it’s heyday, his friends would mix batches of windowpane and spread the gelatin over the inside of the back windshield of their car, trek from New York into Indy, and cut that stuff up for distribution. The chaotic frenzy of emotions and visuals that blotter or good windowpane acid brings on is like nothing else. Some can’t handle it, some are good with it. Acid is like a snake; the more you use it the more familiar you become with the warning signs that could get you bit. If you become aware of it and play safe I find it no more harmful that say, the vast amounts of liquor some folks were putting away on St. Patty’s…I don’t recall anyone getting cirrhosis of the liver from LSD. Some argue that it will cause you to lose control and hurt yourself or someone else. Again I refer back to the bar.

I believe any drug you put in your body is a gamble. I personally can be killed from aspirin. I’ve known folks who could coat the inside of their lungs with cocaine and function fine but because those who couldn’t handle it went out and did some bad, the nation pays the penalty. My big hope I suppose would be to see people given the opportunity to do acid, if they so chose, under the stipulation that you will be held accountable for your actions. This is a fair course to take because our (collective) bodies are different so why try to classify some things under the reactions of a few? Exaggerated for effect, if you took that approach, the day the number of those lactose intolerant outweighed those who weren’t the legality of milk consumption could be brought before some board. Such extreme levels of some chemistry is a given, such as I feel it’s safe to say that snorting drain cleaner is not safe for anyone but I just don’t feel LSD was given a valid shake because it was the motherload of insanity for the parents of the 60’s and 70’s to contend with. With marijuana finally having it’s day and being studied more scientifically, maybe it’s time our FDA opened up the floor to serious debate of what are currently classified as dangerous drugs. There have been some remarkable overseas studies on the usage of psilocybin to help terminally ill patients cope with death. Rather than taking a religious or political stance of these drugs, maybe we should start collecting real data?

By the way, anyone out there…if you know, tell me. Where did it go?

0 Responses to “Where Has All the Good Acid Gone?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Calendar of Posts

March 2015
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Blog Stats

  • 11,750 hits

