01
Jun
14

Vampire Chronicles: the Q and A Continues

vc-6

 

It was time to get to my notes from Red and venture back into that dialogue. Life goes on and distractions pop in and out of my life but I do eventually get back to this persisting query of mine, this obsession with finding out what I can about the obscure life of these folks who call themselves ‘vampire’. The day started out getting baked from the sun and a good strain of marijuana which then led me on the path into downtown Sleepytown to witness a pop culture convention. While waiting for public transit I got into a debate with this rather large local woman who had that bizarre dialect that’s beginning to seed itself permanently into our society; a mixed accent of urban ghetto speech and hillbilly, which makes for an interesting sound almost as hard to decipher as thick Cajun. My concluding conversation with the large girl left me wondering if there is any hope for us all…things will never change if you don’t help make them happen and she had certainly given up. “That’s jus’ how thangs are, hon, yo, it’ll nevah change.” – her accent was uncanny.

DA: Interesting synopsis on that time of your life. This world of vampires is more complex than I would have imagined and woven through the general data lies personal, subjective slants to how any given presenter will address themselves and their thoughts. Thank god I’ve got heavy drinks to carry my focus on this matter – drugs only when completely necessary.  My intent is to offer an objective viewpoint on vampires and educate people with more facts and less superstition. This has not been an easy search for me to find someone who put enough trust in me to speak and once again, I thank you for that.

RED: I’m a very patient person when I want to be so no need to hurry, you can take your time and ask as many questions as you like. It’s hard to offend me too. It is hard to trust someone with my certain lifestyle. To be honest only four people, who actually know me, actually know about me being a vampire and they have all been my donors. I feel like I live a double life sometimes. I’ve been involved with someone for three years now and not even he knows. It’s hard in a way not being able to open up and share your true self with the people you love. It’s almost like the equivalent to being gay and you aren’t able to share who you are with others for the fear of them judging you or, in my case, thinking I’ve lost my mind. 

DA: Do you feed on blood on a regular basis and if so how often?

RED: When I do have a donor though, I try to feed every two weeks if I can. I’d love for it to be every 7-10 days, but go a bit longer so the healing process for them is longer.

DA: What risks do you find for yourself in regards to feeding?

RED: There are so many risks when trying to find a donor. I always make them get a blood test done before any encounter. If I’m with someone new it takes me a while to trust them. Having a donor who takes care of themselves is very important too. You form special bonds with donors, a special connection. I only had one “preferred” donor,  but that was a few years ago. Now, I’ll take anyone who makes “the cut” from my list of qualifications. As for now drinking my own does no good. There are substitutes for it but nothing is ever like blood. I don’t drink from animals like some do, I couldn’t do that.

DA: Do you (currently) have preferred ‘donors’ that supply you?

RED: I currently don’t have a donor so I am on the hunt again for a new one; I’m picky.

DA: I imagine it’s a hard subject to bring up with a person you feel may be a suitable candidate..almost like talking them into doing something sexual, or at least the taboo of the whole ‘drink blood’ thing would imply. Is that a slow dance to get to the point where you feel comfortable enough to approach someone?

RED: The majority of people, mainly men, assume it’s some strange sex fetish and think they are going to get something out of it, but the people I end up choosing don’t expect anything in return. They are usually happy to help and enjoy the experience. If I had to resort to just asking people solely in person if they’d be a donor I’d definitely take my time with it getting to know them so I wouldn’t just spring something like that upon them.  I guess I’d choose a certain type of person.  I can usually tell who would be okay with it and who would turn it away.

DA: So once you do find someone you find suitable and they are fine with it, what procedure do you use to get the blood? Is it typically a cutting procedure where you get it right at the source or can it be stored, like medical bags you see that hold plasma?

RED: I get my blood usually through cutting my donor. If we had medical bags that would be even better, but generally none of the donors have any way of getting hold of one. I have taken blood other ways but its mostly cutting, which I perform unless they feel like they need to.

DA: Once you have fed do you show any external signs of…rejuvenation or say, something such as your skin clears up or is it more internal where you feel healthier and have more energy?

RED: Once after feeding I notice my color changes and for me its more internal. I feel content for the moment and like I have more energy, like as if I had drank something with caffeine only intense. I feel better physically, less headaches.

DA: I’d almost be tempted to see if I might match up as some donor for you – for the experience of it all.

RED: Alright, sounds good. (smirks) that’s tempting, I’m having no luck finding a donor and it’s starting to show more. I’m hoping I’ll run into more luck soon because going without makes life more difficult.

2 Responses to “Vampire Chronicles: the Q and A Continues”


  1. 06/01/2014 at 8:01 am

    I’m really impressed with your writing skills and also with the layout on your blog.
    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Anyway keep up the nice quality writing, it’s rare to see a great blog
    like this one these days.

    • 06/23/2014 at 3:12 am

      Thanks for the kind words…I spent a while getting the look for this page and tried to make it reader friendly. Another thing I try to consciously do is make sure a post doesn’t run too long; reading too long on a computer screen really works on the eyes quick so if a subject I’m writing on is going to take some space, I’ll split it into multiple entries.


Leave a Reply

Calendar of Posts

June 2014
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Blog Stats

  • 11,750 hits

