08
Sep
13

Too Legit to Quit, Too Insane to Stop pt. 2

syria-2

The evening ended with MC Hammer putting on a performance that had me eating my words of pity for him. The man was far from being washed up, and I have to be big enough to admit when I’m wrong. There was a capacity audience larger than any before witnessed at the Taste of Colorado adn everyone was talking about his show days to come. The people were packed ass to ass in the ninety plus weather, waiting to see the iconic hiphop artist and when Hammer showed, he came on strong. As hot and uncomfortable as it was, we all got groovin’.

Night fell and the show ended; soon the food and beer tents began shutting down for the evening. This is when my true interest of the human animal kicked in, witnessing the folks still down here after the Hammer crowd had left. I always wonder what the street dwellers do once everyone else clears out to go back to their homes. For a brief period of time the street kin have crowds of strangers walk into their turf familial to disrupt their normal schedule of park sitting. Drug dealers are shooed out, homeless plod off somewhere outside the park’s parameters and then finally, the evening festivities end; the rides and popcorn stands are closed and tribes of urban dwellers rise to the asphalt once again to claim their land.

I thought of going back home but luck and timing threw a bone of curiosity in front of me. While discussing my indecision of plans on the phone with a friend, a fight broke out across the street from me between a couple meth heads. one guy was in an irate rage (probably ripped off from the other person) and they began clawing at each other. Miraculously, in a matter of moments, a Denver fire department truck stopped in front of them to break things up and dole out some treatment to wounds. One of the methheads was having none of this treatment shit though, and started attacking the firemen. Three of them finally took the guy down and held him with his face to the ground while all waited for the cops to arrive. What a great photo op I thought to myself. My friend on the phone was in a bit of disagreement with me on this one:

“I need to get over there and get a pic of me next to the guy.”
“This doesn’t sound like a good idea” my friend cautioned.
“Are you kidding me? This sounds like the best idea” I told him and hurried to the other side of the street before the incident was a closed case and the doped up guy hauled off to jail.

While crossing the street to get closer, Denver police showed up and quickly strolled over to the perp and tazed his ass. I couldn’t see me fitting all this activity and myself into one picture – not at my arm’s length. I needed someone to take the photo for me. The first candidate to cross my path was this incredibly small woman with white hair, barefoot and all inked up, strolling out of a bar no more than 100 feet from the incident.  Perfect. I pushed my handheld into her small palm and quickly blurted out some instructions on how to take photos with it. As drunk as she appeared, the concept of snapping a photo was easy enough, so I got my picture and left the police and firefighters to finish up the paperwork on those two drugged disasters.

While observing the tribes of Colfax that evening I began to reflect on their lives and compared it to the people of Syria. Most Denverites know very little about the actual day to day affairs of the nomads that live on their streets and our nation knows very little about the people of Syria. We are an ocean away from seeing the truth over in the Middle East and are forced to rely on the news being dispensed on networks that guide their coverage and bias based on the audience they favor to keep as subscribers. With this form of subjective news, mixed in with political disinformation, do you really expect to get a true picture of what’s going on? We can’t even be sure the footage we’re seeing is real. Faked video has been released by a number of nations, some exposed, some not-with no substantial groundswell backlash from the public.

The vast majority of Western society tend to shy away from any organization that has the word ‘Brotherhood’ in it’s name; Westerners really shy away from groups with the word ‘Muslim’ in their title. If I were laying Vegas odds, I would have to say that most Americans are going to side up with any group opposed to a Muslim organization. The paradox provoked here is caused by the myriad splinter groups in the Middle East that operate with secrecy and double-even triple-loyalties to each other. It’s like a family of starved rats fighting over a scrap of food…related to one another, yet ready to take anyone out in order to achieve their objective.

The streeties of Colfax went about their business the rest of the evening. Twenty somethings waiting for their baby-mamas to come pick their kids up off the bus route, drug dealers hooking up with their regulars, spats over who gets to canvas which corner. If all you looked at was the surface you may be a bit disgusted at seeing people living a life that seems foreign and bizarre, out of context from the norm. I tend to look beyond the cover of the book to see a lifestyle that is different from mine, yet the same in many ways. When I watch footage of Middle East factions killing and dismembering their enemies, I see a lifestyle that is different from mine, but similar in many ways. If tomorrow I was invaded by people that lived a few blocks away and those people took the lives of my friends and loved ones, revenge would run through my veins so how can I accurately judge that which I have never experienced? We (most of us) in the States don’t experience this so we find it hard to relate to killings and bombings. We find it easy to express our opinions about the horrors of what’s going on over there but all we have to base our feelings on are projected, cherry-picked news stories that someone else feeds us. Were we to live in that kind of nightmare for even a few weeks, we may see things in a different perspective.

Whether it’s on the streets of Colfax or the streets of some Syrian town, all we can really do, effectively, is stay out of the way. You can theorize until you’re blue in the face about why we should or should not invade but until you step onto the streets and live the lifestyle a bit, all you can do is postulate the best course of action. In this scenario, even to do nothing is to do something, but my mind considers the action of putting U.S. troops on the ground over there as another walk of shame for our country at the expense of God knows how many lives. Let’s keep the fuck out of this conflict and let someone else die for a change,

0 Responses to “Too Legit to Quit, Too Insane to Stop pt. 2”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Calendar of Posts

September 2013
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Blog Stats

  • 11,837 hits

